Reuben Sandwich Recipe

6 03 2008

This past weekend I went home to Syracuse for my sister’s birthday and took her out for lunch.  After a slight mishap at the restaurant she wanted to go to, we ended up at Danzer’s, mostly for the peanut butter pie.  But I am in love with their gigantic reubens, and happily inhaled the Big Red Reuben.  I decided to try and recreate this sandwich in a homemade way.  Obviously, the easiest way to make this sandwich is to buy the rye bread and Russian dressing, but I wanted to try my hand at baking rye bread, and instead of buying a whole bottle of dressing, I simply made the amount I needed.

Rye Bread

I used the recipe found at Simply Recipes, but only made it for one loaf, and without the caraway seeds.  I found that after I had mixed all the ingredients together, the dough was still extremely sticky, and I added more white flour.  I continued to add about 3/4 c. flour while I was kneading the dough, so you may find you’ll need to add more than you had expected.  Here are the measurements I used:

  • 1 pkg active dry yeast
  • 1 1/4 c. warm water
  • 1/3 c. molasses
  • 3 to 3 1/2 c. white flour
  • 1 c. rye flour
  • 1/2 Tbsp. salt
  • 1/8 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/8 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

After the bread was done baking, I sliced the loaf the long way to create very wide slices.  Each of these sliced were then cut in half to make the two sides of the sandwiches.  On each half of the bread I spread a layer of dressing.

Dressing

  • 4 Tbsp. mayonaise
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp. sweet relish
  • 1 Tbsp minced onion

Sandwich

  • Thinly sliced corned beef
  • Swiss cheese
  • 1 1/2 c. sauerkraut cooked with 1/2 bottle of beer, until reduced
  • pickled red cabbage

On one slice, place 1 to 2 ounces of the corned beef and top with a slice of Swiss cheese.  On the other slice, put 3 to 4 Tbsp. of either the cooked sauerkraut or the red cabbage and also top with a slice of Swiss cheese.  The sauerkraut will make the tradtional reuben, but I like the red cabbage from time to time for a sweeter sandwich.

Place the slices open-faced on a broiler pan or foil-lined cookie sheet and broil on high for 5-7 minutes, until the cheese is melted and is bubbling.  The sandwich can than be eaten open-faced or with the two sides placed together.

Makes 4 sandwiches.  Total prep time: 4 1/2 hrs (about 4 hrs for bread, about 20 minutes for sandwich assembly)  Calories: 432.9 Total Fat: 19.5 g Saturated Fat: 6.3 g Cholesterol: 58.5 mg Sodium: 5096.3 mg   Total Carbohydrates: 48.2 g Fiber: 2.9 g Protein: 16 g

This is a fairly simple sandwich to make, but is far more interesting than your typical meat and cheese sandwich.  While the bread takes several hours to make, due to the time it take the dough to rise, I found it well worth it and a good experience.  Of course, if you are short on time, store-bought rye bread is still good.  I do recommend making the dressing, as it is easy to do and won’t leave you with a lot of left overs.

Actions

Information

One response

13 03 2008
Suzanne Langley

Great read.
Highly recommend this site – it is tops.
It is early morning here in Aussie and I’m hungover from the Flu so will make further comment when I feel a little better up to it.

Leave a Reply

