Lychee Syrup

29 03 2008

Just a quick ice cream topping I whipped up the other day after buying canned lychees from my favorite Asian store.  I love the flavor of lychees, and if something has lychees in it, I will usually order it (ie. lychee martinis, lychee iced tea…).  I bought a 16-oz can of lychees for a little over a dollar, and decided to make a syrup to drizzle over my vanilla ice cream.  The results were pleasant – the fruity lychee flavor was complimented by the mellow vanilla.  Yum.

  • 16-oz can of lychees
  • sugar
  • water

In a saucepan, combine lychees, and a ratio of 2:1 of sugar to water.  Gently heat mixture until sugar has dissolved and continue to heat until slightly thickened.  The results will not be super thick, but you can add cornstarch if you want a thicker syrup.  Remove from heat and cool in refrigerator until ready to serve.

In other news, I am the slowest cleaner known to man.  I will say that I am trying to get rid of a lot of clothes/books/junk I don’t use anymore, which is slightly slowing me down.  I have started a couple of crafting projects, hopefully to be posted soon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

