Cherry-Cognac Pork with Cranberry-Walnut Taboulleh

27 06 2008

I finally got around to doing two things in my kitchen – cleaning out the  refrigerator and going shopping for real food (not milk and cereal anymore).  I found a little jar of cherry-cognac sauce that someone had given me as a gift.  I had used it before on vanilla ice cream (yum), but looking on the label, it suggested using it on meats, such as pork.  So, luckily, I had a lot of pork chops and thinking of something fruity to go along with the cherries,  I found a recipe for cranberry-walnut taboulleh.  Overall, I liked how the sweet fruity flavors complimented the meat and the bulgur wheat.

Cranberry Walnut Tabbouleh (you can find the original recipe from Cooking Light here – I didn’t have some ingredients, so I improvised.)

  • 1 cup bulgur wheat
  • 1/2 c. chopped dried cranberries (I used Craisins)
  • 1 c. boiling water
  • 1/2 c. chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 minced green onions, white and green parts included
  • 1/4 c. lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped walnuts
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  1. In a bowl, mix the bulgur, cranberries and boiling water.  Let sit for 30 minutes.
  2. While this is soaking, add the olive oil to a skillet and roast the walnuts in the oil for several minutes – this is to release the flavor of the nuts and infuse the oil with walnut flavoring.
  3. After 30 minutes, add the remaining ingredients and toss.  Can be served immediately or refrigerated.

Cherry-Cognac Pork Chops

  • Cherry-cognac sauce (mine was pre-bought)
  • 3 pork chops
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1 Tbsp thyme
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Season the pork chops with the herbs, salt and pepper.  Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and spoon a Tbsp or so of the cherry-cognac sauce over them.
  2. Place baking sheet under the broiler.  Broil for several minutes, until cooked about halfway through.
  3. Flip pork chops over, reseason and again spoon about a Tbsp on each chop.  Continue to broil until completely cooked.

I ended up making an extra pork chop for lunch, which is sure to be delicious.  My only issue was with the tabbouleh – I didn’t have several things the original recipe called for.  I thought I had lemons, but I had to use lime juice instead, and I ran short on that, so I think the tabbouleh was a tad dry.  I also sent the boyfriend on a Wegman’s run before he came over to get the parsley and the mint.  When he got to my house, the conversation went a little bit like this:

Me: (as he brings out two gigantic bags of herbs) “Where is the mint?”

Him: (pointing to the bag that looks suspiciously like cilantro) “Right there.”

Me: “This is cilantro.”

Him: “But it was in the bin marked ‘mint’.”

Me: (taking it out and smelling it) “This is definitely cilantro.”

Him: “Hmm, well I thought it smelled like cilantro, and I thought it looked like cilantro, but it was in the mint bin, so I concluded it must be mint.”

Me: (slaps palm to face)

But nevertheless, the tabbouleh was pretty good.

Actions

Information

One response

6 07 2008
cherrymama

yum! cute! creative!

Leave a Reply

